One Tenth of the Way There: Hours: 1,000 – 1,005

Wow. 1,000 hours. That number feels good. In these hours what I’ve learned so far: Do. Don’t sweat it.

My art has become far less self-conscious, and that has been one of my biggest goals. The other lesson: I really want to continue. I want to make that huge leap from writing, from selling commission work, to making a healthy living selling my original work. That intention is worth the hours.

As for yesterday, it was all about blackout poetry and art. Both of these are good examples of working from an intuitive place. I do a quick 30 second pose for the drawing, then spend significantly more time finding the poem. I like that I’m limited to what’s on the page. I like that there is no erasing. Again, just doing.

The results:

This one sort of sums up my whole 10,000 hours of play.

“Went

In search of

A dream”

IMG_7880

Rosy-cheeked

The man surged up

Into the sunshine and was

Presented by

Hope

IMG_7894

He sang

Sacred Words

To perceive good

A kind of flower

Fruit under the sun.

IMG_7882

He forded the river

No longer haunted

A sweet smile on his lip

A white flag

His guide

IMG_7884

Your name

This allusion

Being in love

Calling him

Is always abusing

A sort of suspicion

Turned red

 

IMG_7886

Brother

Ladies

Cry out

Gracious Heaven

Mercy

Let us hope

IMG_7889

Son

Heart must have you

‘Tis not so noble

Running

IMG_7888

IMG_7883

Commence dancing –

Come

Forget

Forbid me not

I can’t stop

Receive

Ready to drink

To ride

To stay

IMG_7897

Loneliness

Sounded in her ears

She would have loved him

Weary of this inclination

She smiled

Allowed no feeling

To appear

IMG_7887

Barefoot valet

Follow Nature

Love

Thank the Fates and

All Games of Chance

 

IMG_7891

Dancing heart

Insist upon gardens

Dress in purple

Fine linen

Fare sumptuously

Every day

IMG_7896

Happy Saturday Everyone. Off to do 1,000 more hours and then some!

Kim

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

